So ready for the end of term!

Doing the school run often feels like a form of torture for me! I know I’m not alone… Speaking with other parents we often swap horror stories about the journey to school. I take a little tribe with me and all those not so little personalities can get a little hard to handle. Right now I think it’s safe to say that everybody is ready for the end of term!

 

This year, for the first time in forever I have a car! I can not express the joy I feel for this blessing! This makes summer break activities a thousand times easier. So something I have learned over the years that makes a super successful summer is, can you guess what I’m going to say? Yup, that’s right PLAN, PLAN and plan some more.I plan every single day apart from the weekends. For me I plan 1 shopping trip for school related items each week and I set a budget. With 4 to buy for this can be a really financial struggle. Honestly good planning can relive so much pressure. I’ll plan 1 swim once a week and I search for as many free things that I can find. Here in Nottingham I always do a trip to greens windmill and then we have Stonbridge farm. We have some amazing parks , woods and generally pretty places we can take picnics to. To keep the kids a little bit engaged I’ll be doing treasure hunts, well they will have a tick list of animals and insects to find while were out and about in nature.

 

Oh and don’t forget in the house days are just as important as going out! I’m going to try really hard this year to get the kids involved with the cleaning up and house work and cooking… Now that is a thought that fills me with dread, but a mum’s gotta do what a mum’s gotta do!

 

As you can see, with one school related shopping trip a week, one swim a week, one park day a week and one in the house day a   four days out of five filled. The great thing is it won’t cost a lot which is great news because when the kids are off school my food bill goes through the roof!

 

I would love to hear some of your walking to school nightmares. Has this post given you any ideas on how to handle the summer holidays? I’d love to hear from you.

 

thanks for reading and I’ll be checking back in with you all soon.

 

Much love,

 

Mrs Batts. xx

Leave a Reply

